Saturday, January 30, 2010

The Sparrow Memorial Award and the Terry Ward Memorial Grant

In August 2008 the Roberts Society Executive Board established two memorial awards in the names of two of our most cherished charter members—Sparrow Stoneback and Terry Ward. These awards, to be presented at our annual April conference, were designed to encourage participation in our conferences by 1) first-time presenters and 2) presenters with no institutional funding support. A call for donations to the awards fund went out in the summer of 2008 and thereafter. The Roberts Society expresses its deep gratitude to all contributors.
Donations to sustain the Memorial Awards program may be made at any time. Contact Tina Iraca, EMRS Treasurer at, or send a check made out to Tina Iraca, with notation of amounts to be applied to the Sparrow Memorial Award and the Terry Ward Memorial Grant to: Tina Iraca, 16 Montgomery Street, Tivoli, NY 12583.

Saturday, January 16, 2010

CFP EMR 2010

Call for Papers: EMR 2010

The XII Annual Elizabeth Madox Roberts Conference will be held April 24-26, 2010, at St. Catharine College (Springfield, KY) and the Beaumont Inn (Harrodsburg, KY).

Conference directors welcome papers on any aspect of Elizabeth Madox Roberts’ life and work. Papers may deal intertextually with Roberts and other writers; Roberts in the context of the Southern Renascence; Roberts viewed from regional and historical perspectives; Roberts and Modernism; Roberts and architecture, etc. First time reader response papers or essays of discovery and celebration from new readers of Roberts are also strongly encouraged.

Titles and abstracts are due January 15, 2010.

Papers should be no more than 15 minutes in oral presentation. Academic paper sessions will be held at St. Catharine College, Springfield. The conference headquarters is the lovely and legendary Beaumont Inn, Harrodsburg.

Email title and abstract to:
Alex Shakespeare (Boston College), Program Chair, at

Please send a copy also to at least one other member of the Program Committee:

Brad McDuffie (Nyack College), or Amanda Boyle (SUNY New Paltz)

Direct all other conference inquiries to the Conference Director: H. R. Stoneback, Dept. of English, SUNY New Paltz, 75 S. Manheim Blvd., New Paltz, NY 12561 (

Questions about Kentucky Writer’s Day should be directed to Gregg Neikirk (Westfield State College)

See the Roberts Society website ( for further information, archived newsletters, and recent critical studies of Roberts.